Je travaille

I have had such a great day at work. Finally my tasks are getting clear to me. We had a three-hour briefing and brainstorming about the current situation here at work, and I’m impressed with how well functioning an organisation it is. We have big plans for Amnesty International Mauritius Section, and I’m so excited to be a part of building this organisation.

Still, there is that Mauritian culture at work that stresses me slightly. I’m used to working hard once I sit down to work. If I know I’ll be working for three hours I sit down, work non-stop and that’s it. Here we have constant breaks. I sit down; get concentrated and efficient, but then we’ll break and talk for a bit. I work around 6 hours a day and the amount of work expected of me is equal to what Londoners would expect in between 2 – 3 hours. I think I can get used to it, though.

So, as the internet at work, which is the only internet I have, is too slow to open e.g. facebook messages (that’s why I haven’t replied, dad!), my blog is the best way of communicating with the northern hemisphere. I got my “responsibility” today, or I more correctly took it. There are local businesses here that have requested a training course in leadership and human rights, and I am in charge of making it. I’ll be doing research on how this is run in other countries, and by the help of that build the content of a training course that will be a product to sell to SMEs and companies here. With the help of the newest pest analysis, I need to come up with a product that will benefit Mauritius, te companies that receive training and Amnesty International. Mauritius has problems with communalism, almost like racism between the different cultures within the country, as well as environmental, gender and human rights. Once that is done, which I think will take quite a while, I’ll also make the marketing plan for this project, and decide which way is the best to sell this to local companies.

At the same time I’ll help Zuhayr, who’s making a pilot project for face-to-face fundraising, which is an entirely new concept here in Mauritius. Back home people are selling dietary supplements and insurance on the street, while here that is an entirely unknown thing. We’ll be introducing it, it looks like. I see it – and hate it – every day, so I’ll help him a bit with how he can steer away from the most common and annoying mistakes that street-marketing has.

I LOVE IT!

About Maria Louise

- Maria Louise - 20 - Danish - Norwegian - Living in London - I am living a life filled with opportunities, at times you have to choose not to take them. I take as many as possible, though! Join me on my journey! View all posts by Maria Louise

Leave a Reply

