Wear Sunscreen

I’ve been named Snow White, by my Pakistani friend. He is slightly darker than I am. But I’m catching up. And today I did a huge mistake by not wearing sunscreen before going to Soho Square Gardens. He is still darker than me, but I’m now pink.

Is this weather really normal? Dunno, but I enjoy it, that’s for sure. There is nothing better than spending 5 hours in a park, really inefficiently revising maths before the exams, biking there in a summer dress and feeling tired at 6pm from doing nothing. I love that drowsiness in the evening after a long day out in fresh air. I made a three-layered club sandwich for dinner, just because that’s what you do in this weather. Or what I do, anyway.

I’ve written before that I try to live by the essay “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on the young.” Today I made a huge mistake by not following it. Let me cite Mary Schmich’s essay again:

“Wear sunscreen! If I could offer you only one tip for the future, sunscreen would be it. The long-term benefits of sunscreen have been proved by scientists, whereas the rest of my advice has no basis more reliable than my own meandering experience. I will dispense this advice now.”

About Maria Louise

- Maria Louise - 20 - Danish - Norwegian - Living in London - I am living a life filled with opportunities, at times you have to choose not to take them. I take as many as possible, though! Join me on my journey! View all posts by Maria Louise

One response to “Wear Sunscreen

Leave a Reply

