A healthy life

I just got home from a long morning at the gym. I used to be the one you always met at the gym. You know, regardless of whether you went at 6 in the morning or 8 in the afternoon, you’d bump into me. Bak when I lived in Norway I would work out between 8 and 10 times a week. On Saturdays I would have nuts instead of chocolate, and I’d never drink any soft drinks.

Some would call it an obsession. But it was about the feeling. I had such good contact with my body, that I could feel the negative effect the sugar had on me. The gym was my sanctuary. I spent at least 10 hours a day studying, but during those hours at the gym I didn’t think of anything. I put away all thoughts, and just concentrated on lifting those weights.

Then I moved to London, and my habit slowly faded. I didn’t even notice, until I woke up one morning and realised that I’d gained over 5 kilos. Now, it’s not about what that extra weight looks like, although it does show, it’s about how those 5 extra kilos make you feel. Because it actually feels good when your heart isn’t racing like crazy after running up the stairs to get to that lecture you’re late for.

For me, it is all about answering this question:

Do you love yourself?

If you do, which you should, then watching your body deteriorate without doing something actively is simply wrong.

So I decided to do something. I will not wait for those 5 kilos to turn into 10 or 15. So I went to the gym. And after almost one year without more than a few proper workouts, it took me straight back to that sanctuary. My exams start in a weeks time, but for an hours it didn’t even cross my mind. I want this habit back, and now is the time to reclaim it.

That’s me. After the first day of my cycling trip from Norway to Denmark last summer. I had biked 150 kilometers that day.

So ask the question; do you love yourself?

About Maria Louise

- Maria Louise - 20 - Danish - Norwegian - Living in London - I am living a life filled with opportunities, at times you have to choose not to take them. I take as many as possible, though! Join me on my journey! View all posts by Maria Louise

Leave a Reply

