Possibilities

Mary Schmich once wrote: “In 20 years you’ll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can’t grasp now, how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked.” I try to live by this statement, and the rest of what is written in the essay “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on the young.”

Therefore, some weeks ago I grabbed an opportunity. Or possibility, if you like. I decided to participate in a social enterprise challenge, where the challenge is to have the maximum number of people saying thanks to a cause. The last five weeks, my team and I have worked hard to make people say thank you to AIESEC, and today we had a breakthrough. After using some of the sales skills I have attained working in this organisation, the international office marketed our campaign on their facebook and twitter page. The latest post on their facebook page, which has almost 110,000 fans, says “We’re really happy to see the Thank You, AIESEC campaign. Thanks to Maria Louise for putting this campaign together. Check out their Facebook Event to see some of the cool messages.”

Yes, I am proud. And I think I’m entitled to be.

I don’t know what I want to say with this. Maybe inspire myself, and maybe even others, to take on more challenges. Or channel the happiness I’m feeling. Or simply just brag about something I’m proud of.

Regardless, taking Mary Schmich’s advice has today proven to be a good idea. I’ll do it again, and you should too.

About Maria Louise

- Maria Louise - 20 - Danish - Norwegian - Living in London - I am living a life filled with opportunities, at times you have to choose not to take them. I take as many as possible, though! Join me on my journey! View all posts by Maria Louise

Leave a Reply

